Official Feeder Series
  • Kirkwood Askew 2
    • Series News
  • JB1_4521 (1200x479)
    • Team News
  • Boys2Men
    • Series News
  • Micheal Eastwell Ticket
    • Team News
  • EKN-MRTIShootout-Norberg
    • Series News

Official Feeder Series of the                                                                          Mazda Road to Indy Presented by Cooper Tires

The Mazda Road to Indy has attracted drivers from around the globe since its launch in 2010. Now the quest for a Mazda scholarship to enter the USF2000 ranks will have even SHOOTOUT_NEW_MRTI_NEWMAZDAmore global appeal as the Mazda Road to Indy USF2000 $200K Scholarship Shootout now includes the champions of select junior level open-wheel and karting series from around the world.

The Shootout is an unprecedented event bringing the champions of North American and international series together, and expands to include 11 countries on six continents this year. The following participating series will be able to offer their 2018 champion an "entry ticket" to the Shootout, which will be a hotly contested event in the fall of this year. The winner will be awarded a $200K scholarship from Mazda to enter USF2000 in 2019.

Oliver Askew won the inaugural Shootout in 2016, and made the most of the opportunity, winning the 2017 USF2000 championship title. Askew finished third in the 2018 Pro Mazda standings, earning an Indy Lights test last September at the Chris Griffis Memorial Open Test.  Irishman Keith Donegan won the 2017 MRTI Shootout and contested most of the 2018 Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda schedule. Donegan, 21, returned to racing in late 2017 after taking three years off to focus on university.

Eligibility: One Scholarship Shootout entry ticket will be issued to each Official Feeder Series noted below for their series' champion. Five series in the U.S. and Mexico will be on the radar for at-large entry tickets to the Shootout, issued at the discretion of Mazda. – the authority on the karting industry – will continue to select one up-and-coming karter as the recipient of a 2018 Shootout entry ticket.

The entry ticket is non-transferable. In order to be eligible, series champions must be between the ages of 14 and 25 by September 30, 2018. A champion over the age of 25 by the aforementioned date is not eligible and the ticket is non-transferable. Note: previous Mazda scholarship winners are not eligible.

Click on the logos below to visit each series website.




Australian Formula Ford (Australia)

March 9 – October 28

FFord Australia




BRSCC F1600 (England)

March 31 – October 14







Formula Ford Festival (England)

October 20/21

Formula Ford Festival




Dawson WAM Northern Ireland Formula Ford 1600 Championship (Ireland)

March 25 - September 30





Formula Ford SuperSeries (England)

March 25 – October 28

Super Series




Formula Tour 1600 (Canada)

May 25 – September 16

F1600 Canada




NACAM F4 Championship (Mexico)

February – June 17

Nacam F4 Mexico




New Zealand Formula 1600 Championship (New Zealand)

November 10 – February 11

New Zealand




SCCA Runoffs – FC, FM, FE, FE2 or Atlantic (USA)

October 16-21 (Sonoma)

SCCA Runoffs




Scottish Motor Racing Club Formula Ford 1600 Championship (Scotland)

April 8 – October 7





Brazil Kart Open (Brazil)

June 23





South African Investchem FF1600 Championship (Africa)

March 25 - October 21





Team USA Scholarship (USA)


Team USA




Toyo Tires 1600 Championship (Canada)

May 12 – September 16

Toyo Tire Formula Tour 1600




Walter Hayes Trophy (England)

November 3/4

Walter Hayes TrophySM







F1600 Formula F Championship (USA)

May 11 – October 21





F2000 Championship (USA)

May 11 – October 21





Formula Car Challenge (USA)

March 17 - September 16

Formula Car Challenge




Formula Panam (Mexcio)

April 8 - November 4

Formula Panam




Pacific F2000 (USA)

January 12 – October 21

Pacific F2000