Afterburner Autosport Signs Choi for Inaugural USF2000 Championship Campaign
 March 5, 2012| 
  • Team News
Internationally recognized Korean joins Illinois squad in Mazda Road to Indy program with two sports car championships on his resume

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – Series newcomer Afterburner Autosport is excited to announce its first driver signing for the upcoming Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship powered by Mazda season. Korean racer Heamin Choi will make his series debut in 2012, transitioning from a championship-winning effort in the sports car ranks to full-time pro junior formula car competition via a Van Diemen/Mazda prepared by the Illinois-based squad in the Mazda Road to Indy program.

As part of a planned multi-car effort in the Championship class of the highly-regarded USF2000 Championship, Afterburner Autosport has ventured outside the traditional North American ranks to find the first driver for its successful rookie campaign in 2012. In signing the 28 year-old Choi, the two-time SCCA Formula Continental National Championship winners have added an experienced racer with a proven winning record. The two-time Korean sports car champion will contest the entire 2012 USF2000 Championship schedule, piloting an Afterburner Autosport entry in pursuit of both wins and championship top honors.

"We are pleased to have secured Choi for the 2012 season," stated team principal Tim Walsh. "While he is a newcomer to USF2000 competition, he brings a great deal of experience and success to the team. We are all already looking forward to the season-opener at Sebring."

"I'm very excited to be joining the Mazda Road to Indy program with Afterburner Autosport," stated Choi. "In Korea there is no such program to help champions progress up the motorsports ladder. I think the USF2000 Championship is a great opportunity to learn and adapt to American autosports, and I know Afterburner Autosport has the experience, crew, and resources to help me challenge for the championship title."

Choi, who is a native of Seoul, South Korea, first got behind the wheel at the age of 15, racing a kart. After two years of success, including winning the Korean Kart Grand Prix five times, the teenager made his car racing debut in 2001. Showing good skills right from the get go, Choi captured the inaugural Samsung Everland Speedway Scholarship System award and was named the Rookie Champion Awards Winner by the Korea Automobile Racing Association in 2003. Over the course of the next three years, the Korean racer established himself as an internationally recognized sports car driver, securing the BAT GT Championship Formula Korea A (2005) and CJ GT Championship GT1 (2006) titles. In 2007, Choi made his North American racing debut, contesting the Star Mazda Championship season-finale at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. Most recently, Choi has contested several touring car and stock car races in his native Korea.

Afterburner Autosport and Choi officially commence their pursuit of wins in the 2012 Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship powered by Mazda on March 15-16, when Rounds One and Two take place at Sebring International Raceway as part of the 60th Anniversary Mobil1 Twelve Hours of Sebring.

Additional information on Afterburner Autosport is available from the team’s website at For direct contact, please email or call 630-251-1709.

Keep up to date via Twitter @ ABautosport1 and Facebook page Afterburner-Autosport.


About Afterburner Autosport:
Afterburner Autosport was formed in 2010 with the sole purpose of leading the way in Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda competition. Under the guidance of two-time SCCA Formula Continental National Champion Brian Tomasi and fellow F2000 racer and engineer Tim Walsh, the team has over 20 years of experience in open-wheel competition. The Minnesota, Minn.-based squad, having captured two podium finishes in its inaugural pro racing season last year, will make its USF2000 Championship debut in 2012, fielding multiple cars in the top Championship class.


  • USF 2000 LOR 2019
    • Series News
  • LOR USF2000 2019 Pole Banner
    • Series News
  • Keane-USF-Freedom75-Preview
    • Team News
  • NWR-USF-Freedom75-Preview
    • Team News
  • USF2000 Banner 2
    • Series News